My strategy for Forestry preparation for I.F.S. Examination

I had no background of Forestry what-so-ever before taking the I.F.S. attempt of 2013. Therefore, this article is primarily aimed to help those who are completely new to this subject and want to take it as an optional subject in Indian Forest Service’s Examination.

 

The Choice of Forestry 

In 2012, when there used to be two optional in Civil Services, I had taken the examination with Physics and Geography as my optional subjects. Therefore, in order to take the Indian Forest Service’s Examination in 2013, Physics was my natural choice for 1st optional. But I had a tough task of choosing another subject as 2nd optional.

Due to ‘Geography’ background, I had inclination towards Forestry and Geology. First I tried to test the waters of Geology. I bought Brilliant Tutorial Notes of Geology and started surfing the content. Though some part of Paper 1 may be derived from Geography, Paper 2 is completely different, with lots of mineral nomenclature and taxonomy to memorize. I tried for 3 days after which it became amply clear that it would not be possible to prepare Geology as a part time subject; given the fact the G.S. syllabus of Civil Services Examinations had been completely renewed in 2013.

Thereafter, I tried Forestry and I found it, comparatively, much easier to understand along with significantly less factual data to memorize. Notwithstanding the voluminous syllabus of Forestry, the subject- content is straightforward. Therefore, I decided to take up Forestry as my 2nd optional for I.F.S.

 

Testing Waters

In order to get the gist of the subject and get an overall Bird’s Eye View of the syllabus, I went to Jawahar Book Store, Jia Sarai and got a copy of Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu in December 2012.

I read it quickly, yet cover to cover, in around 10 days. The idea was not to have a thorough understanding of the subject but just to get a feel of the content.

It proved extremely helpful as now I was able to identify the important portions of the syllabus to focus upon keeping in mind last 10 year Question Papers of Forestry.

(One more thing, do buy last 10 years Questions Papers of I.F.S. and go through it time to time so as to not to deviate from the core content)

 

Topic-wise Books:

 I began the serious preparation for this subject only after giving Preliminary Examinations held in May 2013. I was confident to crack the Prelims with a decent score; therefore, I did not wait for the result and started preparing soon after.

This is my serious advice to all the aspirants: DO NOT WAIT FOT THE PRELIMS RESULT BEFORE STARTING THE PREPARATION FOR MAINS EXAMINATION. THE MOST CRUCIAL PERIOD GETS WASTED OTHERWISE.

I referred the following books for different portions of the syllabus.

Paper  1

Section A

1) Silviculture – General

  •  Principles and Practice of Silviculture      by           L.S. Khanna

(The most important book: Remember numerous examples for each topic. Citing examples fetch more marks)

2) Silviculture – systems

  •  Theory and Practice of Silviculture Systems      by      Ram Prakash      L S Khanna

(Only read those systems that are frequently asked) 

3) Silviculture – Mangrove and Cold desert

  •  Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu 

 4) Silviculture of trees

  •  Refer Internet for few of the important trees. Do not waste too much time on this topic.

  

Section B 

1) Agroforestry, Social Forestry, Joint Forest Management and Tribology

  •  Agroforestry: Indian Perspective        by          L. K. Jha
  • Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu 

2) Forest Soils, Soil Conservation and Watershed Management

  •  Refer some Coaching institute’s Geography notes 

3) Environmental Conservation and Biodiversity

  •  Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu
  • Follow the material that you use in G.S. for this topic 

 4) Tree Improvement and Seed Technology

  •  Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu
  • Topics like Provenance Trials etc. can be prepared from internet.

 

 Paper  2 

Section A 

1) Forest Management and Management Systems

  • Forest Management    by   Prakash Ram

2) Forest Working Plan

  • Forest Management    by   Prakash Ram
  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu

3) Forest Mensuration and Remote Sensing

  • Forest Mensuration by   Chaturvedi and Khanna

(The preparation for this topic must be more extensive than intensive i.e. do not try to go into details of working of every instrument but try to cover as many ways of measurement as you can)

4) Surveying and Forest Engineering

  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu
  • Internet for better understanding of structural designs

 

Section B 

1) Forest Ecology and Ethno-botany

  • Handbook of Forest Ecology and Biology by   Sharad Singh Negi
  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu 

2) Forest Resources and Utilization:

  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu

(Try to remember as many examples, along with their scientific names, as you can) 

3) Forest Protection & Wildlife Biology

  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu

(Important topic as these topics are also asked in interview as well as G.K. paper)

4) Forest Economics and Legislation

  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu
  • Wikipedia

 

Shortcut

In case you do not find time to go through all these books, a decent preparation can be ensured just by going through the following 4 books:

  •  Principles and Practice of Silviculture      by           L.S. Khanna
  • Indian Forestry   by    K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu
  • Forest Management    by   Prakash Ram
  • Forest Mensuration by   Chaturvedi and Khanna

Group Study

 In the last phase of preparation, just two weeks before the exam, we (a group of 6 people) collaboratively divided the topic amongst ourselves and took turns to teach each topic. It was an immensely useful exercise.

 

Mind Maps 

In order to facilitate quick revision just before the exams, I made my notes in the format of mind maps (Forestry Notes). Mind Mapping is a great learning tool which helps to store information in our minds in a non-linear fashion. While depending upon linkages of different topics, it enhances retentively.  It’s a tool worth exploring.

 

I sincerely wish good luck to all the candidates who want to appear in I.F.S. Examination. All the Best.

54 thoughts on “My strategy for Forestry preparation for I.F.S. Examination

      • Dear Rishav sir, Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences. Your note is very informative. My brother is going to appear in State Forest Ranger Officer exam. He has taken Environment Science as one optional subject. Could you please recommend any Environment Sciences book which is in Hindi medium? This will be a great help.

    • Dear Prashant, comments like these make me difficult to convince others that I am not indulging in shameless self-promotion 🙂 🙂
      Thanks for the kind words.

  1. what kind of work is involved in IFS?What do you do?Do you get to travel a lot (into forests for inspections) as such or is it a desk job with a lot of administrative responsibilities that are done at the desk itself?

    • Hi Sandeep,
      Yes the work in IFS involves a judicious mix of both desk-level and field work. You indeed get to travel to travel in forests to ensure their maintenance and growth. But as you go up in career, field work reduces.

    • I am soon going to upload a few of my notes (Forestry + Physics + GS). They will amply clarify the concept of mind maps. Best of Luck.

      • Hi Rishav,
        Please upload the mind maps and it’s a request that can you give me your forestry books and geology notes as you must have marked important points already which will be a boon as very limited time is remaining and i have not event started forestry optionals yet.Also i am not able to get those books.

  2. Hi friend,
    I took forestry as my first optional. Regarding second optional, i m little bit confused i.e., Physics or geology. Please clarify(I m basically mechanical engineering guy).
    I m going to start preparation for IFS only, not for IAS..
    Please guide me.

    • Only 2 factor should be the deciding parameters: Interest and Aptitude.
      I checked the notes of Geology and found that I had no aptitude for a sentence-long name of minerals found in the Earth’s Crust. Therefore, I shifted to Forestry.
      Check your Interest and Aptitude for the 2 subjects.

  3. Hello Sir,
    Really useful information on yoour blog, especially for IFS aspirants from Engg. background. I have decided on Physics as my 1st optional but I’m confused about the second. I have been thinking about Chemistry. I’ve seen the syllabus and it seems fairly straightforward, restricted mainly to JEE syllabus. Since you probably went through the same path, what made you choose Forestry over Chemistry? (Is the assumption that Sciences (PCM) being more objective are easier to score with full prep. than subjective ones like Geo.and Forestry?)
    Looking forward to your reply.
    Thanks,
    Akshay Surendra
    M.Sc. Physics, BITS-Pilani Goa

    • Hi Akshay Surendra,
      For me IFoS was a back up option and my main aim was to crack Civil Services.
      Therefore, along with Physics (optional in Civil Services) I wanted an optional with a small preparation time. Therefore, I did not go for Chemistry. Chemistry, though high scoring, demands large efforts in terms of time.

      Wrt your 2nd query, I spent two years in Physics and barely 2 months in Forestry. Yet, to my surprise, I scored more in the latter.
      Relative Marks depend on a person’s effort but Absolute Marks are a function of generosity of UPSC 🙂
      Its true, although, that Science optionals have consistency. If you are among the toppers of the Science optional one year, there is a high probability that you will score good marks in that optional next year too. Arguably this is not the case with other optionals especially if you are not from that background.
      I definitely recommend Science optionals for Engineers.

  4. Dear Rishav Sir !

    Where can I find the Geology notes for IFoS ?

    On the brilliant tutorial’s website, they clearly mention that they dont provide for Geology.

    Is there any one point source for the Geology notes so that I dont have to go for the gamut of books.

    FYI: I am not from geology background but a Civil Engineer

    • Well I have Brilliant Geology Notes. Though I didn’t take Geology as an optional yet I bought them to decide between Geology and Forestry.
      You can pick up the notes from me.

      • Dear Rishabh Sir,
        I have just completed B.Sc Forestry and thinking of taking Forestry as my 1st option and for the 2nd option, I am confused between Botany and Geology. Both subjects have long names to memorise and I am weak in doing that. Can you possibly suggest an alternative or trick for my dilemma?

  5. Sir,
    i am in bsc hons comp sc 1 st year.want to prepare for IFoS entrance.suggest me how to study?Also i am planning to take maths as my 1st option but cant decide upon my 2nd option.Plz advice me
    Thank you

  6. Sir, I have completed my graduation with Agricultural Engg.Now I wanna fulfill my dream to be an IFos.So as per your strategy and valuable guidance I thought that the FORESTRY will be a good choice for optional.If you post some valuable notes for Forestry then its help me a lot….so Plz sir reply.Hope for reply. thanks

  7. Hello Sir, I would like to choose botany as my optional subject. Can you guide me?? I have zero knowledge in that!!! And also please guide me regarding how to prepare for GK (both preliminary and main). Pleeeaaaaasseee!!!!!

  8. HELLO SIR,
    I AM ALSO PREPARING FOR SAME EXAM AND STUDIED YOU NOTES THAT IS VERY CATER IN MY OPTIONAL SUBJECT.
    SIR I HAVE A QUESTION THIS EXAM ABOUT THE PHYSICAL TEST , MY EYE SIGHT POWER IS -4 BOTH SIDES AND I HAVE TO WEAR GLASS AM I QUALIFY FOR THIS EXAM.

  9. sir your forestry note was very very very much important for me.
    Your shortcut type note is really impressive.
    sir I am a bsc forestry student.
    so I want the other forestry notes if you have.
    Thank you sir.

  10. Hi Rishav,
    I searched on e-commerce websites, rajendranagar shops but couldn’t find these books. Can you tell me where from to get this book.
    Principles and Practice of Silviculture by L.S. Khanna
    Thanks

  11. Hi sir, i hav taken forestry n geology as optionals for ifs. I am not getting right material. If u hav pl would u access me to take photocopy of dose sir. I hav great interest in ifs, its my dream.

  12. Hi Sir,
    Thank You for your important Guidance given by you till now.
    I too aspire for the IFoS examination.
    Completed my Graduation Just now. Thought that starting for a whole new subject like Forestry, would it be right?
    And one more question that I wanted your suggestion on can I study for the IFoS examination while doing a job? Would it be possible to clear the exam?
    Please Do reply SIR.

  13. Sir
    I m bsc hons in botany .what should I take my 2nd optional subject with botany..please suggest mw

  14. Hello Rishav
    I intend to opt for Zoology and Forestry as the optional subject. But I could only find Indian Forestry by K. Manikandan and S. Prabhu in Flipkart. But I could not find the other recommended books. So need help regarding that.
    With Best regards
    Jayjeet.

  15. Namaste Sir, at the outset i have lot of gratitude for your concern for dissemination of knowledge and may God provide you more energy to do so. Sir, my daughter is doing dual degree in Agr. Engg. and food engg. in IIT Kgp. She is going to completer her graduation in 2016 and hopeful of taking IFoS 2016. Kindly provide some prepatation tips for her. her maid id is pamulya2008@gmail.com

  16. Sir,could you please provide us the forestry notes and other notes related to IFS.I have cleared forest service prelims and need it ASAP.Thnx in advance

  17. Namaste Sir,
    This article proves to be very helpful. Can you please educate us more about Geology optional. Your blog is like oasis in desert for IFS guidance..
    Thanks & Regards.
    Apurv P

  18. Sir,
    I am a civil engineer and preparing for IES and I want to prepare for IFS too but as a part time preparation. Which optional subject do you suggest apart from civil engineering paper as i dont have much time to spare. Please do reply sir.

  19. Thanks a lot sir for sharing your preparation strategy. It’s immensely helpful. A humble request to you- if you could please share the mind maps you made for the forestry paper, it would be really helpful to us. My email id is m.rahul.iitg@gmail.com. Thanks in advance.

  20. Sir,I want to prepare for IFS and intend to opt chemistry & foresty subject but couln’t find the right study material for foresty subject. Could you please kindly provide me the forestry notes and other notes related to IFS.
    Thanks & Regards
    Gyanesh

  21. Thank you sir. Well am Zambian and would Love to pursue a B.Sc in Forestry here in Zambia. Do you think the Recommended books and study strategies you suggested would be of great help to me, seeing that we are pursuing this field in different countries? Or maybe is it that the courses undertaken differ from country to country?

  22. I see your all post. Kindly send me the best book for ifs Physics & Math. I see Amazon marketplace for ifs book in Physics & math RPH edition. This book best or worst.

    Maths very good choice or chemistry for Physics 1st optional.
    sourav Mondal,MSc Physics from VisvaBharati, WB.

  23. Hi Rishav Sir,
    Could you please provide me the forestry notes and other notes related to IFS
    AS I have completed my Graduation in B.A. So i have opted on Subject Forestry.
    Kindly provide some preparation tips for IFS Exam
    Thanks & Regards,
    Seema

  24. hello sir, i have done my B.Sc on forestry and M.Sc. on Environmental Science.
    Sir i have interest in geology but after reading your article i am confused for choosing 2nd optional paper.
    please guide me.

  25. Hello sir,
    I am a Student of botany hons.
    Recently i hv given my last sem examinations and results are awaited.
    I want to become an IFoS officer.
    Our syllabus doesnot contain any of d content mentioned above i.e forestry or geology ..so would botany will be helpful in any of d way in doing prepration for IFoS . Or do we have a option to choose botany instead?
    How should i start with d preparations

  26. Sir I guess geography is no more available for the ifos exam as an optional subject.

    What will you suggest to a bsc forestry four year graduate to take up with as an optional subject beside forestry?

  27. Hello Sir, The information in your blog is great and very helpful. I Am little confused with the choice of subject for mains examination of IFoS. I am a beginner only and was considering Agriculture or Forestry as my second optional subject as first one is botany. I am of Life Science background. Could you plz help me in choosing one. Which subject would be better and If you have any notes related to forestry plz do share.

Leave a comment